Dating / Life / Relationships

‘Cause I know something good this way comes

Got sweet apple pie on the stove, the birds they’re all flyin’ low.

I’ve been doing the online dating thing for couple years now.  Tried it out as soon as I thought i was ready after #4 and I broke up.  It’s been fun enough.  I went out on dates.  Met some fun girls.  But, for now, I am done with it.  I am done feeling like everything has to planned and fit into some perfect algorithm.  Selfishly, I am sick of meeting people who do not look anything like their pictures.  There’s seemingly no spontaneity to it and I want to have that feeling of excitement.

I keep having this idea of what I want and a lot of it revolves around this perfect breakfast.  There’s a big round table near a huge window overlooking a backyard or a garden.  There are pancakes and eggs and I am wearing some fun shorts and a white t-shirt.  She, whomever she is, is just sitting down and looks just put together but without even trying.  She’s smirking.  In the background, Frank, Dino and Sammy are singing.  It’s a Saturday with no plans and endless possibilities.  We could end up back in bed, or out on the road with no place to go.  This idea is what I want.

There is a very real possibility that this is just a day-dream.  That I will be striving for this moment all my life.  But I think it’s an idea worth striving for.  We seem to content in our places, and our relationships, and our life, when it is not exactly as we planned.  But as Jerry Gergich might point out, we can’t plan everything in our lives.  We can only live it.

Online dating has become what seem like planned expectations and interview drinks and contentedness.  I am not the type to be content at most things, and most certainly not my relationships.  Maybe I do have a bit of Ted Mosby in me.  But I also have JD.  And Sam Malone.  And Peter Bishop.  And Barney Stinson.  And Michael Scott.  And Tim Russo.  And none of us are content at being content.

Listening to: Jakob Dylan – Something Good This Way Comes

Leave a comment